Distinguished Leadership Series


CUP’s Distinguished Leadership Series is critical to our organizational vision, and offers unique public affairs forums featuring local, national and global leaders in conversation with CUP members on topics ranging across politics, the economy, culture and society. Past speakers have included: Former Mayor of New York Michael BloombergSalaam Coleman Smith, President, Style Media; Rosie Rios, U.S. Treasurer; John Mack, Chairman Emeritus, Morgan Stanley; Senator from New Jersey Cory BookerMellody Hobson, President, Ariel Investments, LLC; John Rhea, Chairman, New York City Housing Authority; Kamala Harris, Senator from California; Deepak Chopra, Founder, Chopra Center for Wellbeing; Geoffrey Canada, President & CEO, Harlem Children’s Zone; Jonathan Tisch, Chairman & CEO, Loews Hotels; Thelma Golden, Director, Studio Museum in Harlem; Ted Wells, Partner, Paul, Weiss; Don H. Liu, General Counsel, Xerox Corporation; David Chen, City Hall Bureau Chief, The New York Times; Mika Brzezinski, Co-Host, MSNBC’s “Morning Joe”; Darren Walker, President, Ford Foundation; Richard Plepler, Chairman and CEO, Home Box Office, Inc.; Bryant Gumbel, Host of Real Sports with Bryant Gumbel; Arianna Huffington , Chair, President & Editor-in-Chief, Huffington Post Media Group; Gara LaMarche, President, Democracy Alliance; Edward Lewis, Co-Founder, Essence Communications Inc.; Dick Parsons , Senior Advisor, Providence Equity Partners, LLC.; Dmitri Stockton, President and CEO of GE Asset Management; Misty Copeland, Soloist, American Ballet Theatre; Ruben Santiago-Hudson, Award Winning Actor, Writer, & Director; and many other luminaries.